User login

Learn More - Using the Work Flow Manager

Using the Workflow Manager

Accessed through the Administration section of the Navigation Tab, the Workflow Manager allows you to configure your system to react to certain events. You define “rules” where, if certain criteria are met, certain actions take place.

An example might be to create a rule where, if a work order is saved with a WO Type equal to “Emergency”, the system reacts by changing the “Assign To” value on the work order person (effect).



The Workflow File Listing displays all of your workflows in a list view. When you enter this section for the first time there will not be any workflows. Click the “Add New Record” link to add a new workflow


Adding a New Workflow


The blank workflow screen contains three fields to populate:

  • Workflow ID – This is the keyfield for the workflow. This field is populated automatically upon creating a new record and cannot be changed by the user.
  • Workflow Description –Use this field to describe what the workflow does.
  • Active – This switch activates and deactivates the workflow. This is a convenient feature for turning off a complex workflow without deleting it.

When you have completed this form, click “Save New Record.” Your new workflow will be saved and reloaded in Detail view.


Configuring a Workflow


After you create a workflow, configure it by entering the detail view of the workflow and clicking the “Configure” link.



You will be presented with the X3 Workflow Manager (see Figure 1). Begin configuring your workflow by choosing a rule in the Choose a rule drop-down box. Your choices are:

  • After Work Order Save
  • After Labor Charge
  • After Parts Save
  • After Asset
  • After PM Save
  • After Contacts Save
  • After PM Part Save
  • After Asset Part Save
  • After Meter Save
  • After Tasks Save
  • After WO Procedure Save
  • After Work Request Save
  • After PM Generate

NOTE: As we enhance the Workflow Manager, options may be added or removed. The options listed here may be different than those displayed in your X3 account.

Your choice will open the rest of the Workflow Configuration page (see Figure 2). The upper portion contains the options for Conditions and Actions and a button that switches between the two. The lower portion with the gray background will display your choices as you make them and will allow you to configure them.

Next is to configure the Conditions. These conditions need to be in place for the system to perform the Action. Your options are:

  • with field equal to value – Place a check in this box to select a field that appears on the form and a value that will be present.
  • with custom condition – Place a check in this box to create your own filter and value.

When you make your choice it will appear in the lower portion of the page (see Figure 3). Next, click the Action button to display the available Actions. These options are:

  • replace field with value – When the condition is met, the system will replace the field you choose with the value you set.
  • Execute UDF : function – This option is a support tool. If the workflow requires custom actions, the eMaint support department will place a value here.

Choose the Action the system will make when the Condition is met. The Action will be added to the lower portion of the page, directly below your chosen Conditions (see Figure 4).

You are now able to configure the Conditions and Actions. Click the links to open a new window that contains the configuration options. When you complete the form, the link will be replaced with your choice (see Figure 5).

When you have set all the options in the lower portion of the Workflow Manager, the Save Workflow button will become available. Click the button to save your new workflow.


Editing a Workflow


Changing a workflow is similar to adding a workflow. Locate your workflow in the List view and click it to access the Detail view. If you are only changing the title of the workflow, click the Edit link to enter edit mode and make your changes, then click the Save Changes link.

If you are changing the workflow rules itself, enter the Detail view as described above, then click the Configure link. The Workflow Manager will open with the configured rules displayed for you.

You can make adjustments to the behavior of the workflow by clicking the links and reconfiguring them. You can also change the Conditions and Actions by placing and removing the check marks in the checkboxes then clicking the links to configure the new options.

Alternatively, you can completely alter the workflow by using the 'Choose a rule' drop-down list to select a new rule. The lower portion of the page that contains the configurations of the workflow will be cleared out for the new workflow configuration.

When you are finished, click the Save Workflow button to record the changes or click the Go Back link at the top right of the screen to return without saving.

Deleting a Workflow
Locate the workflow in the List view and click the Workflow ID or the magnifying glass to enter the Detail View. Click the Delete link on the form. The workflow will be marked for deletion and unavailable in the list views. See the Remove Deleted Records section on page 18 to permanently remove the workflow from the system.

NOTE: Remember, you have the option to disable a workflow from operating. Use this instead of deleting to save yourself the time of re-entering workflows.

AttachmentSize
Work Flow Manager (PDF)505.68 KB